Governance and Management

   Council


The Council governs the University in terms of section 27 of the Act and University Statute, and subject to the principles of good corporate governance.  The Council is responsible for governance and policymaking at the University, as well as for monitoring compliance therewith.

 

 

   Council Members


Chairperson

Ms Refilwe Buthelezi 

 

 

 

   External Members


   Internal Members


   Non-Members on Committees


   Senate


The Senate is accountable to the Council for all the academic and research functions within the University and all other functions delegated or assigned to it by the Council. Composition, powers and functions of Senate are subject to the Act.

   Institutional Forum


The Institutional Forum as contemplated in section 31(1) of the Act. The Institutional Forum is an advisory body established in terms of section 31 of the Act and advises the Council on:

    Top Management




Vice-Chancellor and Principal

Prof Ntate Dan Kgwadi
Tel: 016 950 9275/9215
Email:  gapenyanes@vut.ac.za/nonkux@vut.ac.za

 



Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Teaching and Learning and Student Affairs

Prof Margaret Linington
Tel: 016 950 9226
Email: margaretl@vut.ac.za



Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Research, Innovation,

Commercialisation and Internationalisation

Dr Speech Nelana (Acting)
Email: simphiwen@vut.ac.za



Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Resources and Planning

 

Prof Raymond Mabuza (Acting)
Email: raymondm@vut.ac.za
Tel: 016 950 9150/9359



Registrar

Dr Dan Mokoena
Tel: 016 950-9930
Email: danm@vut.ac.za


Chief Financial Officer

Ms Nontando Mgobo
Tel: 016 950 6980

Email: nontandom1@vut.ac.za


Executive Director: Operations & Logistics

Mr Leonard Swana
Tel: 016 950 9692
Email: leonards@vut.ac.za

   Executive Deans


Faculty of Human Sciences

Prof Kgomotso Michael Masemola
Tel: 016 9520 9362

               Email: prof.masemola@vut.ac.za

Faculty of Management Sciences

Prof Chengedzai Mafini
Tel: 016 950 6886
Email: chengedzaim@vut.ac.za

Faculty of Applied and Computer Science

Prof Christa Grobler (Acting)
Tel: 016 950 9228
Email: christa@vut.ac.za

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

Prof Peter Osifo
Tel: 016 950-9301
Email: petero@vut.ac.za 

   Executive Directors


Executive Director: Center for Academic Development

Dr Muntuwenkosi (Muntu) Chili
Tel: 016 950 6760
Email: muntuwenkosic@vut.ac.za

Executive Director: Advancement and Internationalisation

Ms Tandi Mapukata
Tel: 016 950 9516

Email: tandim@vut.ac.za

Executive Director: Human Resources

Mrs Busisiwe Ramabodu
Tel: 016 950 9327

Email: busisiwer2@vut.ac.za

Executive Director: IT Services

Mr David Ramasodi
Email: davidr@vut.ac.za

Executive Director: Logistics and Operations

Mr Leonard Swana
Tel: 016 950 9692
Email: leonards@vut.ac.za

Executive Director: Student Support Services

Dr Sibusiso Mchunu
Email: sibusisom2@vut.ac.za

   Convocation


Convocation is known as the convocation of the Vaal University of Technology, hereafter referred to as the Convocation. The Convocation is recognized by the Council as a structure of the University in terms of Chapter 9 of the Vaal University of Technology Statute.

   Student Representative Council (SRC)


The SRC represents all students within the University. The SRC is not a legal entity separate from the University. The SRC functions in terms of a Constitution approved by the Council as a set of Rules, which determines the manner of election, the term of office, the functions and the privileges of the SRC.

   Institutional Statute