National Thesis Competition

Vaal University of Technology student achieves 2nd Runner up at National Thesis Competition

Picture: VUT is delighted to announce Immaculate Linda Achieng as the second runner up. Her future plans are to Work as an academic to help students develop their knowledge of science and provide solutions to environmental problems through science

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic competition developed by the University of Queensland (UQ), Australia, and has since developed into a national competition across Australia, since its launch it has been adopted in 18 countries outside Australia. Ms Immaculate Linda Achieng, a VUT PhD student from the Faculty of Applied and Computer Sciences presented her thesis and walked away with the title of 2nd Runner up.

Immaculate’s Thesis title is: Preparation and characterization of manganese doped iron oxide magnetic nanoparticles coated pine cone powder and its applications in water treatment.

The 3MT competition develops academic presentation and research communication skills and supports the development of research students’ capacity to effectively explain their research in a language appropriate style to a non-specialist audience. The concept has grown exponentially. Participants are given three minutes to explain the essence of their research. The presentation should cover their research problem, how they tackle it and why it matters. Participants are allowed one static visual aid – for instance a PowerPoint slide, or a photograph.

Besides being great fun, the value of the 3MT competition lies in how it obliges participants to elucidate with precision several of the key dimensions of a thesis – a type of clarity that many postgraduates find difficult to attain. Additionally, it gives the opportunity for postgraduates across the country to interact with their peers from other institutions. Students can enter in a STEM Sciences or Humanities/Social Sciences stream.

To align this years’ 3MT competition with the international standards, the competition was only open to registered PhD students at accredited South African Universities. The national competition featured PhD students from 7 universities in 4 provinces.

Visit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook PageVisit Our Facebook Page