The Department of Legal Sciences was launched at VUT in 2009 when the department had responsibility for presenting legal subjects for all other qualifications at the university, with one qualification presented in the department, the National Diploma in Safety Management.

In the following years the department developed and the number of qualifications, subjects and staff complement was extended.  Apart from its own qualifications, the department also presents all discipline-specific law and safety subjects to students registered for qualifications presented by other departments and faculties.  The Department of Legal Sciences teaches approximately 5 500 students each semester.

• Diploma in Labour Law

• Diploma in Legal Assistance

• Diploma in Policing

• Diploma in Safety Management

• Advance Diploma in Mediation

• Advance Diploma in Policing

• Advance Diploma in Safety Management